The University of Alabama Water Ski Team - 2017

NCWSA Team Rankings: First of 2017 – 9/22/2017

Three of the four NCWSA regions have hit the water, with the Western region opening this week, so it is time to release our initial 2017 team rankings!

Feature photo credit to Spencer Schultz and the Alabama Water Ski Team 2018 calendar fundraiser.


  • Alabama debuts in the top spot for the second consecutive year!
  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette ended in the top spot last year, and debuts second in 2017, one spot higher than their 2016 debut.
  • University of Louisiana at Monroe, the 2016 NCWSA National Champions, debut in third in 2017, one spot lower than their initial ranking in 2016.
  • The Midwestern region has the most teams in the top ten with six teams grabbing top ten spots.
    • The highest ranking Midwest team is The Ohio State University Water Ski Team at fifth; two spots up from where the team finished in the 2016 rankings.


  • Florida Southern College & Rollins College are both missing from the rankings since their tournament was cancelled due to the hurricane. We expect one or both to leap into the top 5 when they hit the water!
  • With the Western region opening their season this weekend, we expect a bit of a shakeup in the top ten next week, lets say two Western teams will jump into the top 10!

2017 Rankings – 9/22/2017

Rank Team Name Region
1 University of Alabama Eastern
2 University of Louisiana at Lafayette South Central
3 University of Louisiana at Monroe South Central
4 Clemson University Eastern
5 Ohio State University Midwestern
6 Michigan State University Midwestern
7 Miami University Midwestern
8 University of Kansas Midwestern
9 University of Wisconsin – Madison Midwestern
10 University of Wisconsin – La Crosse Midwestern
11 Texas A&M University South Central
12 Iowa State University Midwestern
13 Missouri State University Midwestern
14 University of Cincinnati Midwestern
15 University of Michigan Midwestern
16 Purdue University Midwestern
17 Texas State University South Central
18 Grand Valley State University Midwestern
19 Auburn University Eastern
20 University of Texas South Central
21 Bowling Green State University Midwestern
22 University of Nebraska Midwestern
23 Kansas State University Midwestern
24 University of Missouri Midwestern
25 Marquette University Midwestern
26 Ohio University Midwestern
27 University of Wisconsin – Stout Midwestern
28 University of Georgia Eastern
29 University of Iowa Midwestern
30 University of Dayton Midwestern
31 University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee Midwestern
32 University of California, Los Angeles Western
33 Arizona State University Western
34 Cal Poly San Luis Obispo Western
35 San Diego State University Western
36 Western Michigan University Midwestern
37 Baylor University South Central
38 Indiana University Midwestern
39 University of Arkansas South Central
40 University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point Midwestern
41 University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire Midwestern
42 Southern Illinois University Midwestern
43 Lander University Eastern
44 Minnesota University Midwestern
45 Central Michigan University Midwestern



Adam Koehler

Skied with the Illini Waterski Team and the Marquette Waterski Team. Past winner of the NCWSA Outstanding Leader Award. Former NCWSA Operations Committee Chair and current NCWSA Secretary.