Dane Mechler and Sam Greenwood - 2017 AAC Co-Chairs

Introducing Your 2017 NCWSA AAC Co-Chairs

The Athlete’s Advisory Council (AAC) is the NCWSA athlete’s representation on the board of directors. Each year two co-chairs are elected. We are proud to have Dane Mechler back for another year on the Board of Directors, and delighted to see Sam Greenwood get elected as co-chair and bring a fresh face to the NCWSA Board of Directors. Without further adieu let’s get to know a little more about our AAC co-chairs:

Dane Mechler

Who are you?

Dane Mechler - University of Louisiana at Lafayette - 2017 AAC Co-ChairI am a graduating senior who thinks 4 years of eligibility isn’t enough as I just finished my last semester with the University of Louisiana at Lafayette Ragin’ Cajuns Waterski Team. I love to spend time with anyone who shares the same passion for waterskiing that I do, regardless of their ability level, and help them to reach their goals!

Dane is the current AWSA and NCWSA Male Athlete of the Year, current NCWSA slalom National Champion, and won gold in slalom with Team USA this past September at the World University Championships.

Why did you run for AAC co-chair?

I have been waterskiing my entire life. This sport has given me so many great experiences, the opportunity to travel the world, and has allowed me to meet some amazing people. I wanted to give back, using the knowledge I gained from my experiences to help grow the sport we all love.

As AAC chair you chair the committee that represents all athletes of the NCWSA, with that in mind what is your goal or big idea you want to try or complete this year?

Listen and be flexible to change. I want to help bring all regions closer together by listening to what is working in each region and try to implement these ideas into the entire association. Also, we need to address what isn’t working and what is limiting our potential growth. Going into my third year as AAC chairman, I am excited about the potential we have this year to make a positive impact. If you have something that you want to be changed, feel free to reach out!

Sam Greenwood

Who are you?

Sam Greenwood - Alabama - AAC Co-Chair 2017My name is Sam Greenwood, I am from Little Rock, Arkansas. I attend school at the University of Alabama, I am studying Mechanical Engineering with a minor in Business, also I am a part of the water ski team serving as the Vice President of the team. I serve on the South Atlantic Conference board and the Eastern Region Board of Directors for NCWSA.

Sam skied with Dane on Team USA to help take home the team gold this past September at the World University Championships, and he also skied his way to a bronze medal in men’s overall!

Why did you run for AAC co-chair?

A chair member has stepped down from their position and I feel that I have a lot to offer on my end from the experience and involvement I have had in this sport. I have seen the impact that water skiing has made in our region from beginner skiers to those at a world class level and it is one of the most fun experiences a skier can have competing in college. I am excited to have been elected co-chair and want to be able to help more schools get involved in this beautiful sport that we all share a passion for.

As AAC chair you chair the committee that represents all athletes of the NCWSA, with that in mind what is your goal or big idea you want to try or complete this year?

Big ideas and goals involve things that we as a sport can improve upon. That means I will be all ears listening to how I can make skiing as a whole more welcoming to new comers along with offering the best experience possible while still having the competition of the higher end skiers.

2017 Board of Directors Complete!

With the election of the two AAC co-chairs, the 2017 NCWSA Board of Directors is now complete. We look forward to continuing to grow our sport and making the NCWSA even better than it already is!



Adam Koehler

Skied with the Illini Waterski Team and the Marquette Waterski Team. Past winner of the NCWSA Outstanding Leader Award. Former NCWSA Operations Committee Chair and current NCWSA Secretary.