USA Water Ski & Wake Sports Foundation

2018 Scholarships & Grants Deadlines Approaching!

Colton King Award

The transcript submission deadline is February 14th, 2018. The inaugural recipient of the Colton King Award was The Ohio State University.

The premise of the award is to reimburse a Midwest Collegiate Water Ski Association team’s national tournament expenses in order to reward the team for working together to be competitive on the water AND in academics. This directly reflects the example of the former captain of the collegiate water ski team at University of Wisconsin – La Crosse, Colton King.

The award goes to the Midwest team who obtained the highest highest average GPA as a team, out of all the Midwest teams that competed at Nationals.


Michael Gerken Equipment Grant

The grant application deadline is February 28th, 2018. Last year, Jack Ralph and Michael Anderson were each awarded a grant.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Juniors and Seniors collegiate status required for grants
  • Shows overall commitment to the sport through their Collegiate Ski Association and continued participation after their sophomore season
  • One grant for a Midwest Collegiate Water Ski Association member
  • One grant for a National Collegiate Water Ski Association member

For more information about the grant and to apply for the Michael Gerken Equipment Grant please go to the USA Water Ski & Wake Sports Foundation’s page, and submit the online application and reference forms.


USA Water Ski & Wake Sports Foundation Scholarships

The scholarship deadline of March 15, 2018 is quickly approaching.  Completed applications must be received before the deadline preceding the academic year for which the scholarship is requested. Unless otherwise stated on the USA Water Ski & Wake Sports Foundation’s website, all the scholarships are for one year. Many past winners of these scholarships ski within the NCWSA, including several 2017 winners!

Eligibility Requirements

  • Currently enrolled as a full-time student at a two (2) or four (4) year accredited college, incoming Freshman through incoming Senior.
  • U.S.A. Citizenship
  • Current active member of USA Water Ski: AWSA-ABC-AKA-WSDA-NSSA-NCWSA-NWSRA-USAWB-USHA
  • Award will be made to an undergraduate student and for no more than (3) academic years. Recipients must attend school for the full year during the year of receipt.

To apply, head over to the USA Water Ski & Wake Sports Foundation’s application page!



Adam Koehler

Skied with the Illini Waterski Team and the Marquette Waterski Team. Past winner of the NCWSA Outstanding Leader Award. Former NCWSA Operations Committee Chair and current NCWSA Secretary.