2017 All-Stars Post - Jump Crop

2017 All-Stars Update: Why We Fly – Contest Update, More Prizes!

Please see the official NCWSA Why We Fly contest announcement for all entry information and guidelines for contest submission, voting will occur during the NCWSA All-Stars tournament!

A Message from Ryan Dodd

Ryan Dodd - Why We Fly[The contest helps] to give back to collegiate skiing and skiers. Collegiate skiing was the most fun, rewarding, and memorable times of my life skiing. The community, the friends we made, and the team aspect. Putting everyone on the same playing field. The shortest jumper was as important to the team as the farthest. Getting the 5th spot slalom skier to add a few more bouys, or teach someone to trick to fill a spot on the team. All this stuff is what made it so cool! Plus we get to do our favorite thing with friends, and get a break from class!

We hope for some amazing submissions to what we are now calling the “NCWSA Why We Fly” contest. Additionally, Ryan helped come up with some more prizes to provide further incentive for submissions!

Prize List and Winnings Breakdown

Ryan Dodd and Santiago have added a few more prizes to the pile, so we decided to break the prizes into a first, second, and third place. Thank you Ryan for coming up with some amazing prizes for the contest!

  • 1st Place: 1 Icaro Helmet, 1 Ski or Die Shirt, and Video Coaching for team.
    • Video coaching lessons for the winning team where the skier/team sends Ryan video, then he will watch the video, and provide tips and coaching based on the video!
  • 2nd Place: 1 Sling and 1 pair Stealth Gloves
  • 3rd Place: 1 Ski or Die Hat

Our next update will contain photos of the prizes, but we hope you all are well on your way to putting together an amazing submission to our Why We Fly contest since the submission deadline is next Tuesday!



Adam Koehler

Skied with the Illini Waterski Team and the Marquette Waterski Team. Past winner of the NCWSA Outstanding Leader Award. Former NCWSA Operations Committee Chair and current NCWSA Secretary.