NCWSA Why We Fly 2017 Splash Image

NCWSA Why We Fly 2017 – Video Contest

Calling all jumpers competing at 2017 All-Stars!

Do you want to win a signature ICARO jump helmet autographed by Ryan Dodd?

We want to see what makes jumping so special to you!

We have teamed up with Ryan Dodd to find the jumper that has the most passion for hitting the big red. Is it the collegiate ski scene? Seeing your team cheer you on from shore? The feeling of turning a little later than usual and being able to boot one? We’re looking for someone that shows love for jumping regardless how far they go.

Description of and Incentive for Contest by Ryan Dodd

Prize List and Winnings Breakdown

  • 1st Place: 1 Icaro Helmet, 1 Ski or Die Shirt, and Video Coaching for team.
    • Video coaching lessons for the winning team where the skier/team sends Ryan video, then he will watch the video, and provide tips and coaching based on the video!
  • 2nd Place: 1 Sling and 1 pair Stealth Gloves
  • 3rd Place: 1 Ski or Die Hat

Video Submission Guidelines

  1. Deadline: Tuesday, May 16th at 11:59:59pm PDT (one week from today!)
  2. Length: 45-60 second video
  3. Content: Tell us why you love jumping and show us a short clip of you jumping. Explain what aspects of jumping make you love flying.
  4. Submission Location: Submit to as a video in an email attachment, a link to the dropbox or Google Drive file, or a link to your video on YouTube
  5. Social Media: If you have an Instagram account, please include your Instagram handle/name in the submission email and we will tag you in the caption/comment when it is posted by @theNCWSA.


  1. The NCWSA will download all video submissions to post under NCWSA social media (@theNCWSA).


  1. NCWSA Why We Fly 2017 Voting Post
  2. The final voting tally will be a weighted sum between the audience, Ryan Dodd, Santiago Varas, Jeff Rush, and Igor Morozov.
    1. The audience can vote by liking a submission video on either the NCWSA Instagram or NCWSA YouTube (or both).
      1. Due to limitations liking must be done directly in either Instagram or YouTube
      2. Instagram Search for #NCWSAWhyWeFly2017Submissions
      3. NCWSA playlist with all NCWSA Why We Fly 2017 submissions
        1. Playlist is ordered alphabetically by first name of contestant.
  3. Voting will close Sunday May 21, 2017 at 10 AM CDT, any likes after that point will not be counted towards the audience vote.

Special Thanks to Organizers

Thank you to Santiago Varas from The University of Alabama and Ryan Dodd for putting this great contest together!


5. Grant Schipper, Iowa State University


4. Curtis Williams, San Diego State University


3. Zach Brannan, Ohio State Unviersity


2. Dylan Brittain, University Of Kansas


1. Erik Lukkari, University Of Michigan

Congratulations to prize winners!

Congratulations to the top 3 videos that came away with the prize packages donated by Ryan Dodd. Ryan will be in touch via email to get shipping and sizing information. If you want to watch the other submissions, check out the contest playlist on the NCWSA YouTube channel.



Adam Koehler

Skied with the Illini Waterski Team and the Marquette Waterski Team. Past winner of the NCWSA Outstanding Leader Award. Former NCWSA Operations Committee Chair and current NCWSA Secretary.